Tags

, , ,

So, who’s been watching Finding Your Roots? *Raises hand* Me!! I have to thank this show for making me pick up where I’ve left off with my genealogy brick wall/dead-end.

Tuesday’s episode has especially made me more focused than ever to find more information about my ancestor and his parentals. I believe it was Angela Bassett’s ancestor who had a different last name than his parents. Her ancestor was sold off from his family, and he took on the surname of his last slave owner. Well, I have a similar situation. Years ago, I located the marriage license of a great grandfather and grandmother. His parents had a different last name than his. Let me tell you, I have searched and searched, but have gotten no closer to knowing the truth. I will try and try again to figure this out! And hopefully, I will have a story to tell!

